Booking Through Thursday : Odd

This week’s Booking Through Thursday asks:

“What’s the oddest book you’ve ever read? Did you like it? Hate it? Did it make you think?”

London Lavender by E. V. Lucas. I expected the book to be a short story collection of some sort. But when I started reading it I was considerably taken aback. What was this? Shall I call it slice of life? Or is this another one of Lucas’ essay collections with a touch of fiction? I’m not even sure whether to call this fiction or non-fiction. But even though the book didn’t turn out to be exactly as I thought it would, I loved it! It was weird but very enjoyable.

8 comments

    1. Me too!

      The Shadow of the Wind is one of my Halloween Special reads. I am finding it very interesting so far but its length is rather worrying me. Will I be able to finish it in time for Halloween, that’s the question.

  1. Similar experience here. The book I found to be rather odd was The Black Veil: A Memoir with Digressions” by Rick Moody. At first I rather disliked it, but as I continued to read I was somewhat perplexed, annoyed, and curious. When I finished it, I reviewed it on my blog expressing my mixed feelings. It was a book that made me think. I wouldn’t necessarily recommend it, but I wouldn’t discourage anyone from reading it. It Is a book that I’ll remember more than many others that I’ve read.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

Leave a Reply

