Musing Mondays (Mar.26)

This week’s Musing Mondays from Should Be Reading asks…

“This week’s musing asks…

Have you ever found a book out of the blue, read it, and then had it be surprisingly good — one that stuck with you for years? If so, what book was it?

I usually never pick up a book I know nothing about. Girl in Hyacinth Blue by Susan Vreeland was one of the exceptions. I found it while idly browsing the shelves of a second hand book store. As I read the blurb I felt that it probably wasn’t my kind of book but something made me want to try it anyway.

Once I started reading the book I couldn’t stop. The language was elegant and the story was really interesting. I tried to slow down but even with deliberate interruptions I ended up finishing it off in a day and a half. It was such a pleasant surprise!

14 comments

  1. I sometimes pick up books I’ve never heard of, but most of the time I read about them on blogs. Yours sounds like a great book!

    1. Hi! Thanks for dropping by my blog!

      Sorry couldn’t comment on your blog as I’m having issues with word verification. Cry, Baby, Cry sounds interesting. I love twisted stories! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

